Tags

, , ,

Dublin - Ireland - O'Connell Bridge

He left me there

that day on O’Connell Bridge

rain a smear across my face

brutal in its rage.

 

His silence should have told me,

its absence weighty

rejection a storm.

 

I tried so hard

to be myself

yet ended up

as someone else

the parts he preferred

on show; lesser ones buried.

 

I had been part of something,

no longer on the fringes

believing that alone

was the only way as

‘girlfriend’ slid from his tongue,

and I bathed in its licks.

 

He told me

in the bridge’s middle,

beside a man that wore

the weather on his face

and spread fingerless gloves

over badges and earrings

without a pair.

 

His words were fast and slippery

so none of them stuck –

‘please don’t leave me’

a puddle at my feet.

 

He disappeathe Gaywa Reviewred from sight

consumed by backs and fronts,

yet another man

once so precious, now lost.

 

Despite it all;

he left me there.

Published in The Galway Review – http://thegalwayreview.com/2012/12/06/two poems-by-clodagh-obrien/

