Tags

, , , , , , , ,

number 49

Week 49 was ajingle with reflection & gratitude

This week was definitely more productive than the blip of week 48. I spent time editing two short stories, one old and the other new and sent them off to the powers that be (in this case journal editors!) It was great to get a few things completed and off my desk in time for the Christmas break and the advent of a new year. Now it’s a waiting game with a break of family, stuffing myself and laying around, ahhh the relief! In addition I found a book ‘The 100-Year Old Man who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared’ to lose myself in and was reminded of where writing can bring you if done well.

I have been thinking about what to do with my time over Christmas. At the moment I am torn between reading and editing the NaNoWriMo novel to see if it salvageable, or letting the brain clear and have new stories come in whatever form they may. In terms of 2014 I have decided that – apart from the odd occasion on my blog – to stop writing poetry as I don’t think it’s my forte, and trying to master every form is just not possible. Saying that if a wonderful fully formed one presents itself, who would I be to resist?!

What I do know is that like everyone around me I am ready for a break; one to slow down, recharge and reflect. It has been a wonderful year full of surprises, both in my personal and writing life. I am grateful to have had so many wonderful people accompany me on the journey. Here’s to the 50’s and the telltale jingle of Santa…

